0.05 – A Surprise Date

1When he called me, the first thing I could think was: How did he get my number? But this guy is rich, so he probably had his resources. We talked for a couple days between my collecting and taking care of my plants, and I got to know him and his family life. But tonight was different, he asked me out on a date. I was nervous, but accepted anyway. I got dressed up and left for the bistro.
“Name?” The host asked.
“Uh. Under Landgraab. I’m the plus one.” The host eyed me then nodded.
“This way please.” She led me around the corner and there he was.

2We talked for a few minutes before we ordered.
“I’m so glad you accepted this date.” Geoffrey started. At first I was a little unsure, because he and his wife are still married, even though he ensured they were separated and getting divorced.
“To be honest, I almost didn’t accept it. The whole separation thing still means you’re kinda married and could get back together at any moment. Plus…it’s what all the married guys say to get some young chick to sleep with them.”
“Oh darn, you saw through my ruse.” He pulled out his phone and showed me pictures of the separation document. “Does this ease your worries?” It did, but not by much.
We ordered, and he offered to pay – which was fantastic because these prices were ridiculous.

34The meal was great quality – for those prices it better have been – and the wine was a vintage with a large price tag. He ended up buying the bottle to keep the wine flowing. We talked about everything: from my island and what I do on it, to his boring desk job, and what my current dreams and aspirations were. I didn’t tell him that I wanted children or wanted to get married, because right now I just really liked his companionship and attention – I knew children and marriage would scare him off.
We didn’t have dessert because we were full of fish and wine. I embraced him and thanked him for the dinner.

5 67Maybe it was the wine. Or maybe it was attention. Or my loneliness for human contact. Whatever it was, it gave me the courage to kiss him outside of the bistro – in public view. It gave me the courage to invite him to my home, with implications of more than kissing. It gave me the courage sleep with him, the not-so-married man.
Looking back on this night, I was a foolish and desperate woman who just wanted to feel loved for the first time in her entire life…and I got it from the wrong person.

7 thoughts on “0.05 – A Surprise Date

Leave a comment